# Special Congress Events

The following special congress events are included for all AIP2000 Congress delegates.

## The Harrie Massey Medal Lecture by Professor Tony Thomas

### Monday 11 December - 5.45pm to 6.45pm

The Massey Medal was proposed at the AIP Congress in 1988 and established in 1990 as a gift of the Institute of Physics, UK, to mark the 25th anniversary of the founding of the AIP in 1963 as a separate institution (previously physicists in Australia had belonged to the Australian Branch of the IOP).

The prize is awarded every two years for contributions to physics or its applications made by an Australian physicist working anywhere in the world, or by a non Australian resident in, and for work carried out in, Australia. A lecture on the work for which the Medal is awarded is presented at Congress in the year of the award, and an article published in The Physicist. The recipient must be a member of the Australian Institute of Physics or of the Institute of Physics. Previous winners have been:

- 1990 Professor R Dalitz
- 1992 Professor D H Briggs
- 1994 Professor R Baxter, ANU
- 1995 Professor A D Buckingham, University of Cambridge
- 1996 Professor A Snyder, ANU
- 1997 Professor D Pegge, Griffith University
- 1998 Professor D Melrose, University of Sydney

The Massey Award will be presented by IOP President, Professor Sir Gareth Roberts FRS CEng CPhys FInstP, followed by a lecture by the award recipient. All delegates are welcome to attend.

# Women in Physics Forum

#### Tuesday 12 December - 5.30pm to 7.15pm

The Women in Physics group will hold a forum in the North/South Dining Room, located on level 4 of the Adelaide University Union Building. For further details please contact Margaret Law on +61 8 8300 4464 or margaret.law@tenix.com

## **Public Lecture**

#### Tuesday 12 December - 7.30pm to 9.30pm

A lecture featuring Paul Davies, open to all delegates and the general public will be held in Bonython Hall.

Paul Davies was born in London in 1946, obtained a doctorate from University College London in 1970, and held academic appointments at Cambridge and London Universities until, at the age of 34, he was appointed Professor of Theoretical Physics at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne. He remained there until his emigration to Australia in 1990 to take the Chair of Mathematical Physics at the University of Adelaide. In May 1993 the University created a new position, Professor of Natural Philosophy, specially for him. In May 1997 he decided to take early retirement from the University. He currently holds Visiting Professor positions at Imperial College, London, and at the University of Queensland.

Paul Davies has published over 100 research papers in specialist journals, in the fields of cosmology, gravitation and quantum field theory, with particular emphasis on black holes and the origin of the universe. He is also interested in the nature of time, high energy particle physics, the foundations of quantum mechanics, chaos theory and the theory of complex systems. His former colleagues at the Adelaide University are investigating topics in quantum gravity including superstrings, higherdimensional black holes and quantum cosmology.

Paul Davies is well known as an author, broadcaster and public lecturer.

All delegates are welcome to attend.

## The Bragg Gold Medal for Excellence in Physics Lecture by Dr Ping Koy Lam

#### Wednesday 13 December - 10.15am to 10.45am

The Bragg Gold Medal for the best PhD thesis by a student from an Australian University was established in 1992 as an initiative of the South Australian Branch, to commemorate Sir Laurence Bragg and his father Sir William Bragg. The winners so far have been:

- 1992 Dr Stephen Bass, University of Adelaide
- 1993 Dr Henry Chapman, University of Melbourne
- 1994 Dr Wolodymyr Melnitchouk, University of Adelaide
- 1995 Dr Howard Wiseman, University of Queensland
- 1996 Dr Andre Luiten, University of Western Australia
- 1997 Dr Alexander Buryak, Australian National University
- 1998 Dr Tanya Munro, University of Sydney
- 1999 Dr Ping Koy Lam, Australian National University

The medal is awarded annually to the student who is judged to have completed the most outstanding PhD thesis in Physics under the auspices of an Australian University, whose degree has been approved but not necessarily conferred in the previous thirteen months. No candidate can be nominated more than once.

The Bragg Award will be presented by AIP President, Prof John Pilbrow, followed by a lecture by the award recipient.

All delegates are welcome to attend.