## Welcome to the Congress

The 14th AIP National Congress promises to continue the fine tradition that goes back to the first such Congress, also held in Adelaide, back in 1974. The organisers under Tony Williams have done a fine job in making the arrangements for what promises to be a memorable physics-fest.

A special welcome is also extended to international visitors who will be in attendance. In particular, we will have as special guests representing the Institute of Physics, Sir Gareth Roberts FRS, who is currently President, and the Executive Director, Dr Alun Jones. Sir Gareth will present the Massey Medal.

Four of our Special Interest Groups, Nuclear and Particle Physics [NUPP], Women in Physics [WIP], Condensed Matter Physics [CMP] and Solar, Terrestrial and Space Physics [STSP] are arranging their own special programs or are participating with other organisations.

A special welcome is extended to three of our Cognate Societies, the Australasian Society for General Relativity and Gravitation [ASGRG], the Australian Optical Society [AOS], and the Vacuum Society of Australia [VSA]. We also welcome the Atomic and Molecular Physics and Quantum Chemistry Society [AMPQC], Computers in Physics Education [OzCUPE], the 18th AINSE Nuclear and Particle Physics Conference [AINSE/NUPP] and the 23rd AINSE Plasma Science and Technology Conference [Plasma2000].

During the Congress it will be my pleasure to present the Bragg Medal for the best physics PhD thesis in 1999 to Dr Ping Koy Lam of the ANU.

I look forward to being with you all in Adelaide.

## John Pilbrow

President, Australian Institute of Physics

## Associated Conferences

These people have coordinated the Conference program for their associations.

OzCUPE Dr Judith Pollard, Adelaide University

STSP Dr Dick Thomas, DSTO

VSA A/Prof John O'Connor, University of Newcastle

AMPQC Prof Igor Bray, Flinders University of South Australia

Dr Michael Brunger, Flinders University of South Australia

CMP Dr Stephen Collocott, CSIRO Telecommunications and Industrial Physics

Prof Jaan Oitmaa, University of New South Wales

AINSE/NUPP Dr Andrew Stuchbery, Australian National University

Dr Dennis Mather, Scientific Secretary, AINSE

SASTA Mr Alan Pepper, Unley High School

Dr Barbara Possingham

Ms Susan Cockshell, South Australian Science Teachers Association

AOS Dr Murray Hamilton, Adelaide University

ASGRG Dr David Wiltshire, Adelaide University

Plasma2000 Prof Robin Storer, Flinders University of South Australia

Dr Dennis Mather, Scientific Secretary, AINSE

WIP Dr Margaret Law, Tenix Defence Systems

MP Dr Eva Bezak, Royal Adelaide Hospital

A/Prof Tim van Doorn, Royal Adelaide Hospital

